Atom A Capture First Ever OHF Title for the Eagles!!, News (Burlington City Rep Hockey Club)

News Article
News Article Image
Apr 20, 2014 | Admin | 3878 views
Atom A Capture First Ever OHF Title for the Eagles!!
After capturing the OMHA Championship in March, the Maxxmar Atom A Eagles were proud to represent Burlington and the OMHA at the Ontario Hockey Federation Championships this past weekend in Vaughan. 

The tournament was hosted by the Vaughan Rangers who delivered a first class event, from the Opening Banquet on Thursday night through to Sunday’s championship game. The Eagles kicked off round robin play on Friday with a 5-3 win over the Meadowvale Mohawks from the GTHL, followed by a 4-2 win against the London Bandits representing the Alliance.  The boys faced an inspired host team on Saturday morning and dropped a hard fought 3-1 heartbreaker.  Saturday afternoon saw a tight battle against the tough Temiskaming Shores Puckhounds from the NOHA, with the game ending in a 3-3 tie.  The Eagles finished round robin play in 2nd place, behind the Vaughan Rangers. But the Eagles kicked into high gear on Sunday.  After a 6-2 victory against Meadowvale in the semi-finals, the boys faced the hometown Rangers in the OHF championship game.  The local (and vocal) Vaughan fans packed the arena, but were equally matched by a huge contingent of Burlington supporters including parents, grandparents, siblings, friends and Eagles President John Tait!  After three long periods of end-to-end action, the talented and speedy Eagles earned a 5-2 victory against the classy and motivated Rangers to claim the Atom A OHF Championship!!    Congratulations to all the Eagles – Goaltenders Ben Digiallonardo and Liam Watt; Defensemen Mike Barnett, Ryan Holloway, Beck Ljungberg, Alex Marinier, Andrew Miele and Jeff Tiw; and Forwards Liam Barry, Ben Baseggio, Sebby Commisso, Cam Fraser, Kieran Kavanaugh, Connor Peak, Jake Proulx, Connor Sharpe, Harrison Stewart and Josh Wyatt.  Congratulations and thanks to Head Coach Brian Sharpe, Assistant Coaches Chad Holloway, Mark Commisso and Anthony Miele, Trainer Matt Ljungberg and Manager Steve Barnett.  What a Year!!  

Global Fuels
Official Sponsor of the Burlington Eagles Trainer Program